Fantastic February

In this the month of love and compassion, we celebrate this most precious of emotions in all its many forms, the romantic love of our partners in life, the endless and amazing love for our children and theirs, the ever changing love of our friends and family, and the love of our companion animals and all the life on our precious planet. What about the love of Self?  Through time, many wise poets and sages have spoken of the need for the love of one’s self first. Yoga asana (the physical poses, accompanied with the breath work, intention and attention) in its purest form is the practice of self love. As you learn to create this union of the physical body, the subtle body and the causal body in your Yoga and meditation practices, you begin to truly love and appreciate the miracle that you are and this then enables you become more loving and compassionate to others. Love purifies the human nature and cleanses the mind and emotional field. It is so much easier to feel loving when one is happy, and we are very happy.  Why are we happy?  We are doing what we love and loving what we do and you make this possible. 

An interesting fact for you: In Charles Darwin’s On the Origin of Species, published in 1868, “survival of the fittest” is mentioned only two times and “love” is mentioned 96 times!  The premise is that we are not hardwired for competition but for compassion and cooperation.

Open your Heart Chakra this month! One way to do this is to simply become more aware of your Heart Chakra and it will open. From the philosophy and science of Vedanta, the Chakras are the junctions in our physiology where energy and matter meet. In quantum physics we know now that there are concentrated bundles of neurons at exactly the locations of the chakras as described by the ancient seers. As technology evolves we are coming close to measuring these subtle energies which are the basis if life.

The Heart Chakra is located in the center of the chest from which feelings of love emanate. It is also associated with other virtuous emotions, such as joy, happiness, honesty, respect, compassion, understanding, generosity, and with loving oneself in a sincere, non-egotistical way. This is also the chakra through which we connect with others whom we love or have affection towards. Once forged, these links are very hard to break, which is why people suffer so much through the break-up of a relationship or the loss of a loved one.

Color: Green. Gems and Minerals: Emerald, malachite, green jade. Attributes: Unconditional love, forgiveness, compassion, group consciousness, peace, tolerance.
When out of balance you may experience: anger, heart problems, rigidity, lack of love.
Area of Body Governed: heart, circulatory system, blood, lungs, rib cage, diaphragm, thymus, breasts, esophagus, shoulders, arms, hands.
To Awaken and Balance: serve others, love and take care of yourself. Breathe consciously. Watch tender movies that “tug at your heart strings.” Wear or view green, including spending time in nature. Chant or meditate using the mantra “Yam.”

Our returning Yoga Snowbirds: Don’t forget we have moved into our beautiful new location one block west.
A loving Namaste,



About Joyful Yoga and Ayurvedic Spa
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s